Chapter two.

Okay I’ve got a little money saved up in the bank and I’ve been taking a long list of small steps to reduce my energy consumption. I turn off all house lights during the day. I dry my clothes outdoors. I disconnect my computer and my TV from outlets when I’m away from home. I limit my shower time and I use energy preferred settings on dishwashers and other appliances.

I’ve even looked into purchasing a wind turbine or solar panels by consulting with DaSolar Wind Installers. I’ve found out that wind is more efficient than solar, but that low wind speeds in Orlando apparently make solar the better alternative.

Now I want to start chapter two of my journey. It’s more like baby step number two. I need to make my transportation more efficient. Sure gas prices are rising but higher MPG vehicles will also dump less CO2 into the atmosphere. Currently my 2003 Sport Trac Ford Explorer gets a combined 15 mpg. Costing me almost 4,000 a year in gas. That’s money I could be saving toward a truly electric vehicle!

My solution is two fold. I plan to get rid of the truck and buy an equivalently valued vehicle. There are some great used cars I’ve found in Orlando for under 6,000

2002 Mitsubishi Lancer 78,440 miles and 25 mpg combined: 2,350 to drive per year.

2004 Chevrolet Aveo 58,382 miles 27 mpg combined: 2,200 to drive per year.

My truck is blue booked for 7000.

So what should I do with the extra 1000?

Image

The 2008 BMS 150cc Scooter gets more that 70 mpg with a top speed of 60 mph! And I’ll always be able to find a parking space!

This entry was posted in Climate Change. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter two.

  1. Nannie says:

    Great idea and I have a poncho for the scooter!

Leave a Reply

